Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Courthouse preservation is right choice for Stillwater County

The Stillwater Historical Society is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit entity which was formed for the purpose of operating the Museum of the Beartooths. The Board of the Stillwater Historical Society is comprised of individuals interested in preserving the history and culture of Stillwater County.
As a board, we have interest in the ongoing feasibility studies regarding the present County facilities, namely, the courthouse and West Annex building.
As a concerned group of Stillwater County citizens and members of the Stillwater Historical Society board, we have written the Stillwater County Commissioners to urge them to preserve the courthouse for use for county government and to build an addition on the north side of the courthouse to house an elevator and additional county offices.
Revitalizing and saving the courthouse building will educate our younger generations on the importance of preserving our past. We hope that down the road, when this project is complete, we can all be proud of the steps taken as a community to protect a significant, stately, and beautiful historical building in our county.
The Stillwater County courthouse is the only landmark structure that signifies the prominent position of liberty, law and justice throughout our County’s history. In April 1921, the Stillwater County Courthouse opened and the local newspaper called it “the finest building in the city and one of the best looking courthouses in the state…is really a dandy and one of which we should all be proud.”
The courthouse is still the finest example of historical architecture in the city and county. We all should be incredibly proud of our predecessors’ undertakings in building the courthouse over 100 years ago.
We, as a county, have the same opportunity today to preserve our history and architecture while at the same time moving this county forward with a new addition that will be amply suited to meet current and future needs.
As board members and county residents, we strongly voice our support for Alternate 2, which will preserve an important piece of our history, fulfill the need for a new law and justice center, and meet existing and future needs of the county.
Rick Hamilton (president), Stan Grotbo (vice president), Ann Davey (secretary), Dan Patterson (treasurer), Al Nordahl, Curt Robbins, Ralph Saunders, Georgette Scheafer, Robert Story and Penny Redli (executive director)