Tuesday, January 23, 2018

From the leftt: Katrina Feddes, Makayla Peterson, Emma Chandler, Keely Mills, Colleen Culbertson and  Emma Kelly.

Absarokee National Honor Society induction ceremony

Absarokee National Honor Society welcomed new member Katrina Feddes on March 20.
Feddes was selected to join the society as a result of her outstanding performance in leadership, scholarship, character, and service. Feddes will be joining other members including Colleen Culbertson, Emma Kelly, Emma Chandler, Makayla Peterson, and Keely Mills who were all inducted last year. LouAnn Atkinson serves as the Absarokee National Honor Society Adviser.
The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in three-fourths of the high schools around the nation. To be eligible for membership, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5. Additionally, members must meet high standards of leadership, service, and character. Leadership is based on the student’s participation in two or more community or school activities, or election to an office. To meet the service requirement, the student must have been active in three or more service projects in the school and community. Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics, and cooperation with both students and faculty.
In addition to Feddes’s induction, Tim Zumbrun was the keynote speaker and the Absarokee choir performed three pieces under the direction of Rebecca Frank.