Thursday, January 18, 2018

Columbus senior Ethan Kane brought home a state championship for the second consecutive year.

Kane brings home state championship in serious drama

The Columbus Speech and Drama Team traveled to the B-C State Tournament in Ennis on Jan. 30-31 with hopes of earning a team trophy after a strong second place finish in the Southern Division.
Alas, the moon and the stars did not align, despite the team’s strong performances, and they were just a few points short of the third place hardware.
However, Columbus did bring home their fair share of individual medals.
Leading the way for Columbus was co-captain Ethan Kane with a first place finish in Serious Solo Acting, performing an excerpt from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. Kane, a senior, was also State Champion in 2014 in Humorous Solo Acting.
With all the variables that go into play in achieving a State Championship in the Drama events, this is a rare and amazing achievement.
Ryan Koski finished second in Humorous Solo Acting, missing his championship by a hair’s breadth. Koski authored his own script, “How About that Airline Food.” Senior Maryssa Schultz qualified fifth from the Southern Division in Spontaneous Oral Interpretation of Literature. Strong performances over both days of competition earned Schultz a sixth place medal.
Columbus enjoyed strong performances from their Policy Debate Squads as well. Junior Sage Livergood, along with freshman partner Alli Onoszko had an amazing run in the preliminary rounds, finishing 5-0.
An unfortunate split decision loss in the quarter finals placed the team fifth.
A similar fate befell the junior team of Kolten Lee and Connor Jacobs, with a split decision quarter final loss short changing their run for the championships. They finished with an eighth place medal.
This talented group, along with the rest of their Speech and Drama team mates will now focus their energies towards the production of the play, The Brother’s Grimm Spectaculathon, by Don Zolidis. Opening night for the play will be Feb. 27 at the High School Cafeteria, 7 p.m.