3 local veterans named 2022 Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation Recipients

Wednesday, November 23, 2022
Article Image Alt Text

Three Stillwater County veterans have been named as 2022 Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation recipients. Columbus resident Kyle Stadel, Molt resident Alexander Roth and Park City resident Kristopher Bartley are among the 51 veterans chosen to be honored.

Stadel served in the United States Army from 2002-2015, which included four tours of duty— three in Iraq and one in Afghanistan. Stadel has been an active community member for decades and currently serves on the City-County Planning Board. Stadel was also recently appointed to the Board of Health. He also serves as a member of the Beartooth VFW as well as the Columbus Post American Legion.

Roth served in the U.S. Marine Corp from 2003-2009, which included a tour in Iraq. Since returning home to Montana, Roth has served on the boards of board of Warrior Wishes of Montana and Dog Tag Buddies — both groups are on are on the front lines of preventing veteran suicide. When not at work as an attorney, Roth donates resources and his time to various charities, especially around the veteran community.

Bartley is a Purple Heart recipient who served in the U.S. Army from 2005-2009. His service has continued back home, where he continues to make an impact supporting fellow veterans with Montana Warriors on the Water, a nonprofit organization comprised of local sportsmen and veterans that partners with local businesses, communities and organizations to provide outdoor recreational therapy and opportunities at no cost to them.

The announcement was made on Nov. 11, after Governor Greg Gianforte served breakfast to veterans and their families at American Legion Post No. 14.

“With the help of folks across the Treasure State, our veteran commendation honors heroes who served our country in uniform and have made Montana a better place through their life of service,” Gianforte said in a press release. “While we can never fully repay them, we can say thank you, and that’s what the Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation is all about. I look forward to meeting with each of these 51 veterans in their communities to honor their lives of service and say thank you.”

This is the second round of veterans to be recognized under Gianforte’s program. In 2021, 31 veterans were honored, including Columbus resident Rick Braley.

Nominations are submitted from Montana residents and a committee that chooses recipients “who have selflessly served our country in uniform and made a positive impact in their community.”

The 2022 recipients will be honored in the new year with an award ceremony and receive a special commemorative flag flown over the Montana State Capitol in their honor. All 51 honorees are as follows:

•Richard Barnard of Saco – U.S. Army, 1971-197

•Kristopher Bartley of Park City – U.S. Army, 2005-2009

•Terry Ray Beasley of Eureka – U.S. Air Force, Vietnam War

•Billy Edward Benton Jr. of Great Falls – U.S. Navy, 19791999

•Jamie Buck of Townsend – U.S. Air Force, 1990-2010

•Robert Bump of Dillon – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Dennis Burns of Great Falls – U.S. Army, 1967-1985

•Douglas Byron of Glendive – U.S. Army, 1970-1972

•Dawn Maree Charron of Lincoln – U.S. Air Force, 1986-2014

•William Dooley of Wolf Creek – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Casey Dusatko of Kinsey – U.S. Army, 2003-2008

•Jerry Dusatko of Miles City – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Joseph Dusatko of Great Falls – U.S. Army, 2006-2011

•Neal A. Eveland of Chester – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Robert Eyman of Livingston – U.S Army, 1952-1974

•Candice Griffith of Great Falls – Montana National Guard, 1998-2018

•Ken Handl of Livingston – U.S. Air Force, 1963-1967

•Gregory L. Harbac of Bozeman – U.S. Marine Corp, 19782002

•Dan Hargrove of Billings – U.S. Air Force, 1982-2003

•James Howe of Bozeman – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Jerry Hudson of Billings – U.S. Air Force, 1966-1970

•Richard Jackson of Dillon – U.S. Navy, Vietnam War

•Les Johnson of Havre – U.S. Air Force, 1972-1976

•Erick Kahila of Missoula – U.S. Marine Corp, 2002-2010

•Christopher Kemp of Superior – U.S. Marine Corp, Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation •Enduring Freedom

•Bob Larson of Red Lodge – U.S. Air Force, 1966-1992

•Dean Martin of Lewistown – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Ralph McKinney of Billings – U.S. Marine Corp, 1964-1967

•Richard McLeod of Butte – U.S. Air Force, 1957-1965

•Darryl Mendoza of Miles City – U.S. Navy, 1996-2010

•Robert Dean Miller of Denton – U.S. Army, 1977-2003

•William Patrick O’Donnell of Great Falls – U.S. Army, 19661970

•Vittorio Ottanelli of East Helena – U.S. Army, Operation Enduring Freedom, Spartan •Shield

•Steven Page of Billings – U.S. Army, 1966-1971

•Chauncey Parker of Box Elder – U.S. Army, 2001-2022

•Douglas Howard Parrott of Roundup – U.S. Navy, World War II

•Donald Pfau of Lewistown – U.S. Army, 1945-1946

•Edward J. Powers of Butte – U.S. Army, 1969-2008

•Xavier Reyes of Shelby – U.S. Army, 2004-2005

•Alexander Roth of Molt – U.S. Marine Corp, 2003-2009

•Joseph Sanders of Billings – U.S. Navy, 1963-1967

•Robert Lee Singer of Baker – U.S. Army 1966-1968

•Kyle Stadel of Columbus – U.S. Army, 2002-2015

•Michael Stone of Bigfork – U.S. Army 1972-1977, U.S. Navy 1977-2006

•Stan Swiontek of Miles City – U.S. Army, Vietnam War

•Paul Edward Thomae of Laurel – U.S. Navy, Vietnam War

•Charles Thompson of Dillon – U.S. Air Force, Vietnam War

•Dallas Warren Thompson of Bozeman – Army National Guard, 1954-1964

•Richard “Rick” Weldon of Eureka – U.S. Army, 1971-2002

•Larry Westfall of Townsend – U.S. Army, 1965-2003

•Christopher Wright of Townsend – U.S. Army, 2010-2017