3 Cougars nab postseason football honors

Thursday, December 3, 2020

Columbus High School football players Colby Martinez, Trey Johannes and Matt Ivankovich have received post-season Class B football honors.


•Colby Martinez (junior, defensive back, wide receiver)

•Trey Johannes (junior, linebacker, running back)



•Colby Martinez (defensive back and wide receiver)

•Trey Johannes (linebacker and running back)


•Matt Ivankovich (offensive linemen)

“Post season honors are always bittersweet. I’m proud of the guys that made the cut, but I always think more of our guys deserve it for all the hard work they put in. Going to practice everyday and seeing how much they invest in the team definitely lends itself to some personal bias,” said Columbus Coach Blake Hoge.

Post-season honors are determined through nomination of players by their respective coaches. However, coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players, meaning the head coaches of every team in the conference has deemed them worthy, Hoge said.

“It really is an honor, particularly since we play in the toughest conference in Class B,” said Hoge.