Election judges being sought

Marlo Pronovost
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Article Image Alt Text

With the looming approach of the 2020 Primary and General elections, Stillwater County Clerk & Recorder/Elections Administrator Heidi Stadel is looking to bolster her election judge numbers.

The count is currently 83 judges, but Stadel said there is always room for more. Election judges run each of the county’s eight polling precincts located in Columbus, Park City, Reed Point, Molt, Rapelje, Nye, Fishtail and Absarokee.

The positions are paid and range from approximately $9.75 per hour to $10.75 per hour. Each election judge is assigned a specific task. For example, an election judge asks for a voter’s name and locates the name in the appropriate documents. Another judge has the voter sign his or her name to the appropriate form. Another judge hands the voter a ballot with specific instructions of how it works and where to go once the ballot is filled out. And yet another judge is tasked with assisting a voter with inserting the completed ballot into the machine.

You must be 18 to be an election judge, be a registered voter and live in Stillwater County. On election days, Molt, Rapelje and Fishtail precincts open at noon and close at 8 p.m. The five other precincts open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. A training will be held in March, but Stadel said she will also provide training after that date to anyone interested in becoming involved. Stadel can be reached at 322-8000.


It is a big election year, with races at the county, state and national level already well underway. Here is a brief break down of races and candidates who have filed so far, according to the Montana Free Press:


RACE: STILLWATER COUNTY COMMISSIONER WHO HAS FILED: Theresa Comfort, Steve Riveland and Curt Robbins (all running as Republicans).



RACE: GOVERNOR WHO HAS FILED: Republicans Tim Fox, Greg Gianforte and Al Olszweski. Democrats Mike Cooney and Whitney Williams. Libertarian Ron Vandevender.

RACE: ATTORNEY GENERAL WHO HAS FILED: Republicans Jon Bennion, Austin Knudsen, Democrats Kim Dudik and Ralph Graybill.

RACE: SECRETARY OF STATE WHO HAS FILED: Republicans Bowen Greenwood, Christi Jacobsen, Forrest Mandeville and Scott Sales and Democrat Bryce Bennett.

RACE: SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION WHO HAS FILED: Incumbent Republican Elsie Arntzen and Democrat Melissa Romano.

RACE: STATE AUDITOR WHO HAS FILED: Republicans Troy Downing, Nelly Nicol and Democrat Shane Morigeau.


RACE: U.S. SENATE WHO HAS FILED: Incumbent Steve Daines, Republican. Democrats Wilmot Collins, Michael Knoles, John Mues and Cora Neumann.

RACE: U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES WHO HAS FILED: Republicans Joe Dooling, Tim Johnson, Debra Lamm, Corey Stapleton and Matt Rosendale. Democrats Kathleen Williams and Tom Winter.

RACE: PRESIDENTIAL WHO IS RUNNING: Incumbent Republican Donald Trump. There are currently 12 Democrats vying for the ticket at the June Primary election. They include Amy Klobuchar, Andrew Yang, Bernie Sanders, Deval Patrick, Elizabeth Warren, Joe Biden, John Delaney, Michael Ben-net, Michael Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Tom Steyer and Tulsi Gabbard.