Local school elections go to mail ballots

Thursday, April 16, 2020
Article Image Alt Text

Throughout the county, school districts have turned to mail ballots for the May 5 school elections.

Ballots will be sent out to district voters on April 16, except in Park City, where ballots will be mailed out April 20.

Some districts had already planned on mail ballots before Covid-19 closures; others moved to the mail-in election in response to the closures.

In Stillwater County, this spring’s school district elections include some districts that will hold elections for trustees and some that will ask voters to approve mill levies. The Fishtail, Molt and Nye Districts have cancelled elections and named trustees “by acclamation” because the number of candidates running does not exceed the number of open positions.

Voters will find information on their respective elections below:


Two candidates — Kyle Sandlin and Michael Pasecznyk — are vying for one seat as the Fishtail trustee on the Absarokee High School District.


Three candidates — Debbie Jacobs, Sue Ivankovich and Debbie Crutcher — are running to fill two board positions. (See profiles).


Three candidates — Shane Leland, Breann Streck and Amber Tilzey — are running for two positions. Voters in that district will also decide whether to approve a $100,000 bond for the elementary district and a $75,000 bond for the high school district. Both levies are for the purpose of instruction and operations.


Residents will vote on an elementary levy of $5,937 for maintenance and operations of school programs.

REED POINT Two candidates — James Goodman and John Ott — are running for one board

Two candidates — James Goodman and John Ott — are running for one board position.

Voters will also determine the fate of an elementary levy of nearly $24,618 and a high school levy of roughly $35,442. If approved, the levies will be directed to rigorous curriculum resources and recruitment and retention of highly qualified educators.

Already “elected by acclamation” are the following trustee candidates: Kaity Williams in Fishtail, Ray Karls in Molt, Linda Holmquist in Nye, Josh Royce as the Nye representative on the Absarokee School Board, Justine Dawson and Clayton Young in the Absarokee Elementary District and both Courtney Herzog and Mat Keating in Rapelje.

Anyone who does not receive a ballot by mail should contact the clerk in his or her respective school district. To determine voter status or to register to vote in this election, residents can stop by the Stillwater County Clerk and Recorder’s office on the second floor of the county courthouse, call the same office at 406-322-8000 or print off the registration form from the county’s website stillwatercountymt.gov and mail it in.

Stillwater County Clerk Heidi Stadel, who also serves as the county’s election administrator, noted that voters who miss the April 27 deadline to register can still do so by showing up at the county election office up to and including election day and until noon the day before.

All mail ballots must be returned by 8 p.m., May 5 to be counted.