Summerlee Luckow named Columbus Fire Rescue Firefighter of the Year

2018 notches record number of calls
Marlo Pronovost
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Article Image Alt Text

Columbus Fire Rescue (CFR) recorded a record number calls and training hours last year, with no sign of slowing down.

The organization finished 2018 with 852 calls and 3,764 hours of training. Add to those stats some 30,428 total on-call hours.

The year’s numbers and individual honors were highlighted at last Saturday’s annual Firefighter Appreciation Dinner in Columbus.

Summerlee Luckow was named as Firefireghter of the Year. Luckow is the first woman at CFR to hold the rank of lieutenant. She has been a paid paramedic with CFR since 2017 and holds Firefighter 1 and advanced wildland firefighter classifications. Luck-ow also works as a dispatcher at the Stillwater County Sheriff’s Office.

Other honorees included the following:

•Hailey Lebsack: Rookie of the Year

•Todd Metzler: Chief’s Award

•Harold Houghton: Hall of Fame

•Capt. Cody Sweeney: Volunteer Response Award (79 calls)

•Steven Derby: Volunteer Most On-Call Hours (1,525 hours)

•Thomas Robbins: Volunteer Most Training Time (289 hours)

Colton Cowger was promoted to the rank of lieutenant. Luckow’s promotion came in December 2018. And Derrick Gaedcke was named as a new resident firefighter.

The following firefighters received their badges and were formally sworn in as members of CFR:

•Katie Holybee


•Dylan Newhall

•Chase Robinson

•Kyle Starr

•Marcus Svingen

High school cadets recognized were Peyton Alwardt and Trevor Westervelt.

Those recognized for five years of service included Metzler, Battalion Commander Travis Hansen, Cactus Anderson, Scott Olson, Riaz Karamzadeh, Ben Reed and Board member John Patterson.