Taking the next steps in the facilities capital improvement plan

Thursday, January 31, 2019

SCN photo

Stillwater County Commissioner Mark Crago

Courtesy photo

Stillwater County Commissioner Dennis Shupak

Courtesy photo

Stillwater County Commissioner Tyrel Hamilton

Happy end of January! Hopefully, by this time, everyone has settled back into their routines after the holidays and we can start looking forward to spring.

On Tuesday, the commission took the next step in our facilities capital improvement plan by appointing three citizens to aid the commission in a final needs assessment and project prioritization plan.

We hope all community members will pay close attention to our weekly schedules and will join the committee in healthy conversation regarding the future of your county facilities.

We have also started to see citizens and groups take advantage of our walk-in sessions that we schedule weekly. This time will continue to be set aside to allow citizens to stop by our office and meet freely with all three commissioners in a working session format.

We would like to encourage members of the community to let us know if they will be coming in and what it is regarding so we can, if possible, have information and county staff ready to help with any issue you may have.

Finally, with the snow that fell last week, it was a good reminder that winter is still hanging around. We received many comments regarding the work our county road and bridge division did to move the snow.

We would also like to remind everyone that the county’s snow removal plan can be found on the website for your review.

One upcoming event to keep in mind is a public hearing hosted by the Economic Development Department covering a county needs assessment. This meeting will be held on Feb. 5, at 6:30 p.m. at the Columbus Community Congregational Church. This meeting will look at the top 10 projects the county is looking at in regards to facilities, infrastructure, business, and tourism.

Have a great week.

Written by Stillwater County Commissioners Mark Crago, Dennis Shupak and Tyrel Hamilton